The Association was established in Franschhoek on 15 October 1929. The head office of CWAA at 126 Dorp Street, Stellenbosch is a national monument. It used to be the annex of the Grand Hotel which was situated on the corner of Dorp- and Meul Street. In 1979, when CWAA turned 50, they moved into the building now known as Jubilee House.

The official magazine of CWAA, Hearth & Home, was first published in May 1952


Address: Jubilee House,
Dorp Street 126,
Hours for viewing Weekdays, 09:00 – 12:00
Phone: +27 (0)21 886 5064
Entrance fee: R20/person
Curator: Mrs Linzetta Smit

CWAA has an annual needlework competition and the six winning entries of the embroidery section are on display for one year. There are also 27 articles from the Emily Hobhouse Lace Collection on loan, as well as other articles of a high standard.


CWAA is affiliated with the Associated Country Women of the World (ACWW).


CWAA offers interesting monthly programs with lectures, demonstrations, debates, exhibitions, shows and/or discussions at meetings, as well as organised educational trips on the following subjects: Agriculture and Horticulture, Arts and Craft, Education and Culture, Health, Lifestyle, Public Affairs.


  • The Jossie Ackerman Study Loan for studies in Domestic Science.
  • The J.E. Conradie Study Loan for studies in Occupational Therapy.
  • The CWAA Agricultural Loan for studies in agriculture
  • The Wynnie Schumann Memorial Loan for studies in agriculture
  • The Glen Uys Loan for studies in any field.

Annual interest free loans for a member or child/grandchild of a member for study in any field at any approved tertiary institution. In the event of an applicant not being a member of the “CWAA”, the applicant whose mother is a member of the ASSOCIATION shall receive preference.

Application forms: Secretary, [email protected]
Closing date: 15 November annually


1995 Alba Bouwer – Jeuglektuur
1996 Prof Gawie Cillié – kerkmusiek
1997 Mimi Coertse – sang
1998 Glen Uys – bydrae tot VLVK
1999 Hetsie van Wyk – borduurwerk
2000 Chris du Toit – landbou
2001 Rina Hugo en Petru Wessels – sang en drama
2002 Anneli van Rooyen – sang
2003 Ds. Solly Ozrovech – Christelike lektuur
2004 Dr. Anton Rupert – natuurbewaring
2005 Prof. C A Smith (postuum) – VLVK se ouditeur vir 48 jaar
2006 Wilna Snyman vir haar bydrae tot die toneelkuns op die verhoog en televisie
2007 Natalie du Toit vir haar bydrae tot gestremde sport
2008 Freek Robinson vir sy bydrae tot aktuele programme op radio en televisie
2009 Helen Zille vir haar besondere bydrae tot die openbare lewe, deurdat sy aangewys is as die beste burgemeester ter wêreld
2010 Coenie de Villiers vir sy bydrae tot Afrikaanse musiek
2011 Argitek Gawie en dr. Gwen Fagan vir hulle bydrae tot die bewaring van Suid-Afrikaanse argitektuur
2012 Jans Rautenbach vir baanbrekerswerk in die Suid-Afrikaanse filmbedryf
2013 Dr. Susan Vosloo vir baanbrekerswerk in pediatriese kardiale hartchirurgie
2014 Ronella Rademeyer vir die vestiging en ontwikkeling van die VLVK-tekstielmuseum as internasionale besienswaardigheid en vir haar internasionale borduurwerkprestasies
2014 Herman Lensing vir sy bydrae tot die kostoekoms van Suid-Afrika as kookboekskrywer en jongste kosredakteur van ‘n Suid-Afrikaanse glanstydskrif
2015 Jonathan Deal vir sy onskatbare bydrae om die Karoo en onmiddellike omgewing te red van die verwoestende nagevolge van hidrobreking
2016 Anton Momberg vir sy onskatbare en uitsonderlike bydrae tot die Suid-Afrikaanse kunslandskap
2017 Peter Veldsman vir sy uitsonderlike en onskatbare bydrae tot die Suid Afrikaanse kosbedryf
2018 Johannes Möller vir sy bydrae tot Landbou in SA
2019 Dr Dave Pepler vir sy bydrae tot die bewaring van die natuur.
2021 Dr Angelique Coetzee