Circle: Cape Town

Correspondent: Erna de Waal & Audrey du Toit (Circle Secretary)         

Date 6 March 2014


The 62nd Conference of Cape Town Circle was hosted by Rondebosch, a Branch of only 15 members and chaired by the Circle President and Chairlady, Mrs Rina Kotzé.  Despite these added burdens a quality Conference ensued, well attended and enjoyed by members of the Circle as well as representatives and Presidents of adjoining Circles.

The main speaker, a local pharmacist, gave an interesting and insightful talk on over-the-counter dispensing of medicines.  South Africa, while rigidly maintaining first-world standards, faces the problems of a developing country in that a vast population has to be accommodated by inadequate qualified manpower.  A unique and more open practice has arisen however, of speaking to patients and being more readily available to them.  Young candidates are given the opportunity of doing in-house training, thus saving the expense of years of university education before qualifying.

In her annual report Mrs Kotzé thanked the Branches and members of the Circle for their support and strenuous efforts in co-hosting Congress 2013 with Tygerberg Circle. In addition, much hard work was also put into CWAA and Circle projects.  A good array of competition entries was displayed, with Strand, Hottentots Holland and Plumstead Branches taking the bulk of the trophies.  Two special cups were awarded by the President: one to Strand Branch for excellence in administration and adherence to dead-lines, the other to Fish Hoek Branch for perseverance in the face of difficult circumstances and impeccable accounting.

In spite of a shock power failure, which even put the sound system out of action for a while, we were served a delicious tea and lunch.  During time saved, the opportunity was given to the winner of the literary art competition to read her poem as well as various contributions from the floor.  Standards in the Arts & Craft and Needlework sections were particularly high.


Entertainment was provided by two little girls on their recorders, accompanied by their music teacher.

Mrs Rina Kotzé, Cape Town Circle President and Chairlady of Rondebosch who hosted the Conference, receiving the National Flag.

Mrs Tillie Viljoen, Chairlady of Fish Hoek Branch, received the cup for Perseverance from Mrs Ena van Blommenstein.


Mrs Ena van Blommenstein, Honorary President of Cape Town Circle, handed the cup for Administration Excellence to Mrs M. Badenhorst, Strand Branch.

Two learners from Groote Schuur Primary School showed what they can do on their recorders.